#181: I Need You

Look, I actually do like this song. Honest. But I’m going to go on record as saying this might be the most generic set of lyrics ever written, not just by the Beatles, but by any major band from any era. (“Generic” of course is not synonymous with “worst.” Don’t worry, Black Eyed Peas, that title lies safely with “My Humps.” At least Alanis Morissette salvaged it somewhat.) That probably explains why, as with “You Like Me Too Much,” George Harrison didn’t feel compelled to give it any space in his I Me Mine compendium.

Riddled with near-rhymes (“need” and “leave” I can take, but “tell” and “upset”?) and sections where near-rhymes would have come in handy (the middle eight pairs “anymore” with…”anymore”), “I Need You” is most notable for a distinct two-man pedal guitar part (George couldn’t coordinate the volume knob while playing, so John handled it). It’s a really simple song on every level, but that sound at least helps it stand out a little bit. And at the very least, it does meet Bruce Dickinson’s standard for cowbell usage.

morecowbell

Which, in case you’ve been living under a rock for the past 17 years, is “more.”
#181: I Need You